Skip to content

Photowalking Utah – Studio Lighting

23 February 2009

This weekend Photowalking Utah hosted a fantastic event.   Though I’m not a big studio photog (mainly because I don’t have one) it was interesting to see the many different setups.  The lighting themes were: Nikon CLS Stobist, Natural Light, Stock, Bridal / Portrait, Fashion, Group and Dramatic. All of the host photographers were fantastic and took a lot of time to work with the approximately 120 people in attendance.  I wanted to thank all of the hosts: Dale Welcome, Ann Torrence, David Terry, Mike Calanan, Mark Abercrombie, Kim Guanzon, running Rich’s setup – Ed Paz and the event MC and uberhost Rich Legg.   And of course the models were fantastic and put up with a lot of crazy photographer ideas,  thanks: Andrew, Alyssa, Kylee, Ron, Elisabeth, Mady, Brittanie, Sarah, Emily and Laarni.  

I spent more time talking than shooting, but I found I had more photo’s then expect once I actuall looked at my memory card.   Below are four of my favorites from the event.   The rest can be found on my flickr stream here.

This is probably my favorite as I love her eyes and the way this turned out after some post processing.

This is probably my favorite as I love her eyes and the soulful way this turned out after some post processing.

 

The Natural Lighting setup was one of my favorites:  what more could you ask for great light, a beautiful model, and prodding from Ann Torrence.

The Natural Lighting setup was one of my favorites: what more could you ask for great light, a beautiful model, and prodding from Ann Torrence.

I took this from the side of the actual lighting setup. Too impatient to wait in line.

I took this from the side of the actual lighting setup. Too impatient to wait in line.

Not technically perfect, but Ron makes this shot.

Not technically perfect, but Ron makes this shot.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 6 March 2009 12:41

    Welcome to the blogging world! You are very talented, Zig! We know who to call next time we need our family pics or the boys’ pictures taken. Thanks for sharing all your pictures! This will be fun to follow up on your creativeness (if that is a word?)

Leave a Reply

