Skip to content

New Year Resolutions

31 December 2009

Normally I don’t set New Year resolutions. I figure if I have a goal, I’ll set it when it finally materializes from the gray clouds of random or directed thought in my brain. However, I do believe in reviewing the past year. For if we do not know where we have been, then we have no indication of where we might be going. To that end I feel that I want to set some definitive goals in the level of my photographic skills.

This leads me to two “goals”. The first of these is to shoot more often and share that experience on my blog. I have already set a goal of at least one full shooting expedition a week. While this may be a stretch when combined with running a company and being in charge of 140 Soccer Team coaches, I am hoping to make a good run at this goal. I believe in setting stretch goals as I think you can accomplish more my stretching yourself than by setting goals that are easily attainable. The start of this goal occurred tonight. A few fellow photogs and I had set a date to go on a Photowalk to Antelope Island. Life got in the way and between illnesses, other commitments, etc we had to reschedule. Usually I would have stayed home nice and warm. However, in order to meet my goal I packed up the gear and headed out to the island. The photo below is a result of that trip.

Winter tundra at Antelope Island on the Great Salt Lake.

The second is to take action on a book I have been reading lately. I received for Christmas the Digital Photography Masterclass by Tom Ang. I had started reading this book from the Library and had been impressed with the way the book is organized, the basis of information provided, and particularly the actionable assignments provided in each chapter. After receiving my own personal copy of the book I have set another goal of completing each of the twenty assignments over the course of the next year. This means I will need to accomplish at least almost two assignments a month.

May your New Year be filled with joy, success, and an emphasis on the things that mean the most to you. And may you meet your New Year resolutions with success.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 1 January 2010 00:18

    Great post. I like the fact that you posted your goals here. It’s a way for you to measure yourself and reflect on your performance. Good job on the photowalk, would had loved to join you.

Leave a Reply

