Skip to content

Musings on a Tailspin

11 May 2010

For those that know me you might be surprised to find that sometimes I am a very private introspective person.   Growing up as an only child I had many opportunity to be alone.  While not as available as they used to be I still love time spent in solitude to muse on the circumstances of life and renew myself.

Often I have turned to the opportunities available to those who live near to so many places of natural beauty and solitude.    The desire to be away from the mass hysteria of life amongst so many people is something I sometimes need.  Some days, howeve,r those opportunities fade from our grasp as quickly as early morning dew burning off in the warm glow of an early sun.  On those days when solitude is unavailable but needed I feel as though I am in a tailspin.  A spiral of confusion, frustration and despair.

Last week I hit such a tailspin.   How to reconcile the desire to be strong for my family, against a raging need to lash out against the news once again.  Cancer! My father!

Ziggy P Sr (my father) as a wee lad!

I needed solitude.  I needed composure.   I needed some time.   But there was none.

Then came my saving grace, a comment from a dear friend.     “You need to blog,” she said.  But about what?  I don’t feel inspired!  My photography feels stale right now …  And so the search of the past images began and an image gave me that composure I needed.   I slipped away to a high mountain meadow in late spring.   Thank you!

Wild Flowers

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob Snow permalink
    12 May 2010 08:38

    I’m really sorry to hear about your Dad Zigg. I know how busy you have been and I can very much imagine the tailspin. I’m glad you were able to find some peace. All our best to your family.

  2. 12 May 2010 09:40

    Hey Zig,

    Sorry to hear the news about your Father. Hang in there!

    Rick

  3. 12 May 2010 11:03

    I know the feeling and I am glad you found some peace. Hang in there – you are amazing!!

  4. 12 May 2010 11:04

    Oh, and you were a dang cute baby too 🙂

    • zpeacock permalink*
      12 May 2010 11:16

      LOL – the picture is actually my father. This is a picture I restored for him a little while ago.

  5. 12 May 2010 14:11

    Hang in there buddy, and glad to hear from you. Take solace in knowing there are many of us out there in (or recently in) similar circumstances and feelings.

    My photography is beyond stale and it gets harder to find the motivation to renew it. You’ll get there, as I know I will too. I enjoy it too much not to keep trying.

Leave a Reply

